The EBRI Ray Lillywhite Award


EBRI established the Ray Lillywhite Award in 1992 to celebrate contributions by persons who have had distinguished careers in the retirement and investment management fields and whose outstanding service enhances Americans' economic security. The Ray Lillywhite Award is presented by EBRI as merited by individual and group excellence.

The award was named after Ray Lillywhite, a pioneer in the pension field who for decades guided state employee pension plans. Lillywhite helped found numerous professional organizations and educational programs. He retired from Alliance Capital in 1992 at age 80 after a 55-year career in the pension and investment field. Lillywhite exemplified not only excellence but also innovation in lifelong achievements, teaching, and learning.

Biography of Ray Lillywhite

Purposes of the Award

Award Nomination Form

What others have said about the EBRI Ray Lillywhite Award

EBRI Ray Lillywhite Award Recipients

2017 Recipient
Karin Brodbeck, Nestle USA

Karin Brodbeck, Nestle USA

Karin leads the Retirement Investments North America group at Nestle USA, Inc. Karin is responsible for investment oversight of Nestle's $4.4 billion defined benefit trust and $5.0 billion defined contribution trust, in addition to other assets supporting nonqualified retirement benefit plans. Karin started her career at Union Carbide and held positions in the Pension Fund Investment and Internal Audit groups. Karin holds an MBA from the University of New Haven and a BA in Economics and History from Linfield College. She was awarded the CFA designation in 1997.

For more information about the Award, please contact:


Employee Benefit Research Institute
1100 13th St. NW
Suite 878
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (202) 659-0670
FAX: (202) 775-6312