Ray Lillywhite Award

The Ray Lillywhite Award celebrates contributions by people who have had distinguished careers in the retirement and investment management fields and whose outstanding service has enhanced Americans' economic security.

The award is presented by EBRI as merited by individual and group excellence and is named after Ray Lillywhite, a pioneer in the pension field who for decades guided state employee pension plans. Award winners are honored at EBRI Board Meeting dinners and at Pensions & Investments Defined Contribution conferences.

In 2018, the award went to Anna Rappaport, Anna Rappaport Consulting. In 2017, the award went to Karin Brodbeck, Nestle USA.

Other recipients include Olivia S. Mitchell, executive director of the Pension Research Council at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania (2016); Christine C. Marcks, president of Prudential Retirement (2015); Mary Nell Billings, director of Global Retirement Programs for Hilton Worldwide (2014); William F. Sharpe, Stanford University (2012); and Keith Ambachtsheer, president of KPA Advisory Services (2010).

Ray Lillywhite

Mr. Lillywhite helped found numerous professional organizations and educational programs. He retired from Alliance Capital in 1992 at age 80 after a 55-year career in the pension and investment field. 

Ray Lillywhite exemplified not only excellence but also innovation in lifelong achievements, teaching, and learning.